Budget build to make a preppy 3TC

Moderators: BOBLOOK, AE25, pufito18

Amanofgreatevil

Budget build to make a preppy 3TC

Post by Amanofgreatevil »

Hey guys, brand new to the fourms and I just picked myself a decent deal for a 1982 Corrola with the 3TC. I got this car after I rolled my beautiful 4Runner, and I actually like this little car. I am still new to the Toyotas. I like them for what they are, they take a beating and last long.

So I got me a little 1982 Corrola for $900 from a good buddy of mine. Car takes me everywhere I want to go and its perfect for that. I want to build the engine to be not all crazy fast, but enough to accerate decently. The motor that is in the car right now has 300,000 miles, eats oil like no other, no compression, with a slippery clutch, and leaving me trail of blue smoke for miles and probally have under 50hp. I have a heavy foot and this little thing seriously takes a beating.

I just got me another 3tc for $400 with 129k miles on it, feels like it has very strong compression. Its on a engine stand halfway taken apart already. While the old 3TC is still running, I want to build this motor up and put it in the Corrola when its done. I want to see if you guys can share some of your experances on building this motor on the cheap, what to go with and not to go with. This will be my first time building a Toyota engine, I built and raced V8s, this one would be fun.

This is what I am going to do with the new 3TC
-Headers from ebay for $100
-Double valve springs from BRD
-Rods from BRD
-Bigger Valves from BRD
-Shave Head, ported and polished portings
-Biggest streetable Cam (not worried about essmisions here)
-Engine regasket, new timing chain, and waterpump
-Flywheel Reshaving (it might be warped)
-Stage 2 Clutch
-Tune up with royal purple
-Modify to fit the 1998 R1 motorcycle carbs
-Engine, and engine bay repaint (of course :mrgreen: )

Questions for you guys;